what is Astrology

what is astrology

Astrology, as per Indian holy scriptures, is known as “Jyotish Shastra,” which translates to the “Science of Light” or “Science of Heavenly Bodies.” It is a traditional Hindu system of astrology that originated thousands of years ago in ancient India and is believed to be a Vedic science.

In Indian astrology, the movements and positions of celestial bodies, such as the Sun, Moon, planets, and stars, are studied and interpreted to understand their influence on human affairs and natural phenomena. It is based on the belief that these celestial bodies exert certain energies and influences that affect individuals and events on Earth.

Jyotish Shastra encompasses various branches, including:

  1. Natal Astrology (Janma Kundali): This branch of astrology deals with creating and interpreting a birth chart (Janma Kundali) based on the exact time, date, and place of an individual’s birth. The positions of celestial bodies at the time of birth are plotted in the chart, and their placements and relationships are analyzed to provide insights into various aspects of the individual’s life, such as personality, career, relationships, health, and more.
  2. Muhurta (Electional Astrology): Muhurta focuses on selecting auspicious timings for important events, ceremonies, and activities based on astrological calculations. It involves considering the positions of planets and other celestial factors to determine favorable timings that are believed to enhance the success and positive outcomes of endeavors.
  3. Graha Sthanam (Planetary Positions): This branch deals with the study of the current positions and movements of planets and their influence on individuals and world events. It involves analyzing the transit of planets through different zodiac signs and houses in a birth chart to understand their effects on various aspects of life.
  4. Hora Shastra (Predictive Astrology): Hora Shastra involves the prediction of future events and trends based on astrological calculations and interpretations. Astrologers use various techniques such as Dasha (planetary periods), Gochara (transits), and Yogas (planetary combinations) to make predictions about an individual’s life, societal events, and global trends.

Indian astrology is deeply rooted in Hindu philosophy and spirituality, and it is often integrated into various aspects of Indian culture and tradition. While some people strongly believe in its efficacy and consult astrologers for guidance in important life decisions, others view it with skepticism and consider it as pseudoscience. Nonetheless, astrology continues to hold significant cultural and religious importance in India.

Author: Sharad Khare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *